Persimmon tree (Diospyros kaki)

I have to admit I was never big fan of persimmon. It was because I have only tried Hachiya type varieties which are highly astringent till soft-ripe. At that time, they are of almost liquid consistence which is not attractive to me.

But then I tried Fuyu type – squat shape and flat bottom. It is mildly sweet, crunchy and can be eaten almost like an apple (I like it with lemon juice).

Tree that I bought if Fuyu type – variety ‘Jiro’. It came from Dave Wilson Nursery and I bought it Home Depot.

3014943632_507c0bdf8e_b
Courtesy of Food Librarian, Flickr.

Here is description from the label: ‘Jiro’ (“Apple Persimmon”). Medium size, flat shape, still crunchy when ripe, non-astringent. Cool or hot climate. Hardy, attractive tree, practically pest free. Fall harvest. Needs 200 chilling hours. Self-fruitful. Drought-tolerant.

My tree was small, I guess it is 2 years old at max. Its started sprouting ion mid-march and has some flower buds, so let’s see how the flowers will look like and if I manage to get at least one fruit to taste it.

 

Leave a Reply

